Click here to edit subtitle

NCS Counselors introduce themselves here

My name is Johanna de Koning-Schaaij, M.A. [Licensed. S101962 ACC/CPCAB]  I have over 30 years of experience in general counseling. I received my second Master degree in counseling from the University of New England. I have helped people with individual problems like anorexia/bulimia, self-esteem issues, coaching for business people, age related issues, adults and children with mental health issues, anxiety, depression, bipolarity, etc. I enjoy working with youth and adolescents. I do marital and family therapy. I have a  Diploma in Creative Therapy and Sand Tray Therapy. I am a Certified Clay Therapist.  My role at NCS is that of Clinical Supervisor. 

I speak Dutch and English, as well as Thai.

My name is Rex (a.k.a. Dick) de Koning. I am a Registered Nurse. I received Post Graduate training in Counseling. I have gained a wealth of experience in counseling couples and parenting issues. I also help men look at their specific needs. My work as a Coordinator for Marriage Encounter has helped me to gain insight in family issues and marital therapy. My wife and I conduct training and seminars in lay and professional counseling skills, and interpersonal skills, as well as parenting and couple’s courses.

I speak Dutch, as well as English and Thai.

My name is Lauren Sentovich. I am an American and earned a bachelor's and master’s degree in Clinical Social Work. Presently I am an interning volunteer at NCS. I have three years of experience counseling expats and English speaking Thais here in Bangkok; mainly students from international schools. I specialize in treating anxiety disorders (social anxiety, generalized anxiety, obsessive compulsive disorder, phobias, etc.) as well as depression. I also have experience treating trauma, low-self-esteem, anger management, time and stress management and substance abuse disorders, to name a few. I enjoy watching client’s quality of life increase as they find peace, joy, and freedom in their minds through counseling. In addition to English I can speak Indonesian and Malay conversationally.

My name is Emi Rowse. I have worked as a professional businesswoman across Asia for over 17 years and understand the pressures and issues involved in the marketplace. I am passionate about counseling people who struggle with anxiety and depression, chronic stress and low self-esteem. 
I have counseled expats and their spouses and have a heart to counsel children, based on my previous experience working with children’s NGOs. I am an interning volunteer at NCS, while obtaining my Master’s Degree.
I am half Japanese and can speak fluent English and Japanese.

My name is Laiyoung Cheng,  
I have a Bachelor Degree in Psychology and Business Management and received training in ABA for children with learning disabilities. I have been trained as a Sand Tray Therapist. I work a lot with teenagers and children. Language: English

My name is Gino (Napont) Suntornkanit 

I specialize in treating chronic stress, low self-esteem, mood disorder such as depression and anxiety, trauma, and addiction. I will take an empathetic, yet active stance as a psychoanalyst/therapist. Apart from traditional psychotherapy, I practice also Brief Psychotherapy, which is focused, vigorous, and time-limited.                                                                                                                            

I am fluent in English and Thai.

I am Joy (Saranjit) Hemkaew 
I have my Diploma in Counseling on a Master Degree Level, obtained at the TBTS in Bangkok and was trained as a 'Satir Therapist'.        

I am able to give therapy to singles and couples and also do family therapy. I also treat depression and anxiety disorders. I give therapy to singles and couples. I also treat depression and anxiety disorders. Next to this I help people with difficult relationships, work related stress management, identity issues, anger management and other challenges of life. My main language is Thai. Therefore I prefer to work with Thai clients.

My main language is Thai and I prefer to work with Thai clients, but I also take on English speaking clients now.

My name is Brian (Ng Fai Kwok) 
I am from Hong Kong. In the past twenty years Brian I have been working as a Social Worker with Youth and Families.  Before I settled in Bangkok, the nature of my job was mainly to take care of teenagers who had committed criminal offenses and those who had withdrawn from their families. 

Apart from Thai & English I can speak Cantonese fluently and my ability to speak Mandarin is fair.

I am Karrie Ng

I am also from Hong Kong. I am a social worker with psychology background, but specialized in career counseling and sexuality issues. I  have experience with young adults and teenagers.  Apart from one on one counseling, I am also an expert in sex and gender education for teenagers. 

I can speak Mandarin and Cantonese well and can speak Thai for education workshops.